My First Card

DSC02936_sml

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve been interested in crafts but quite recently I’m embracing it more often than I used to. Maybe because now I can afford it and the designs are not as iky as before. I remember always watching Carol Duvall’s show after school. I’ve been always the watcher and less the doer as I always say I basically have an idea how things are done and when I have to do it myself its actually a different ball game.

DSC02935_sml

Few days ago I was invited to my sister-in-law’s baby shower, I quickly had the panicky feeling that I haven’t bought a gift yet. When I did manage to rustle up a gift I felt it was too impersonal though I love the onesis I got for my future niece! I can’t wait to meet her!  It was very timely that people from the Studio Calico forum that frequented happen to talk about christmas cards, christmas tags and wrappers so I thought of making one! I actually have this Echo Park paper that I’ve been dying to use so I really have to make this card!

DSC02934_sml

To start off, I consulted my ever knowing BFF Google! I looked for onesie pattern that I would then use as my guide so my cut out would look presentable. Then my ever so reliable embellishment from Studio Calico Project Life subscription kit, I quickly grabbed some sequins and use my favorite roller date stamps. I’ve been collecting them like crazy! I had no clear cut plan on what the outcome would look like I just went with the flow I just know that it have to be something cute and a bit girly. I planned on writing on the “Congratulations!” then as I was rummaging through my box of scrapbook materials I saw my Pebbles roller stamp! Its just perfect! Then of course I use these little clothes pin that I saw in the mall that sells little nick nacks like these. All in all I’m quite happy with the outcome and I’m being inspired to make gift tags for Christmas. We’ll see if an inspiration sparks and I just might do it.

DSC02933_sml

Author: Nik Creates

A UI/Web designer by day, a pastry chef baker by night and a memory keeper in between.

Leave a Reply

